The Commerce Journal

December 22, 2013

Mt. Moriah Church to host The Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Celebration

The Commerce Journal

COMMERCE — Congratulations.  Martin Luther King, Jr. said, “Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.”    It gives me great pleasure to inform you that you have been selected as a recipient for an award during the 2014 The Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Awards Celebration. (Sunday, Jan. 19, 2014) Mt. Moriah Baptist Church, 202 Champion Lane,  Commerce, TX,  2:30 PM.  This award is given to those who demonstrate Dr. King’s legacy of raising public consciousness to social justices, securing progress on civil rights, and loving and serving humanity.  This award commemorates your voice on social issues, outstanding achievements, personal standard of spiritual excellence, and community involvement.  Like Dr. King, you seek justice and total equality for everyone.  

Spiritual Award- Evelyn and Mitchell Scott

Political Award- Emma Martin

Education-David Welch  

Medical- Brian Weber

Spirit of Service- Commerce Chamber of Commerce

Choice of Excellence-  Robin Alexander

Faithfulness- Charmaine Cherry

Business- 3D Car Wash

Encouragement-Billy and Charlene Crosby  

Spirit of Honor and Dignity---Linda and Wendell Edwards

Kings Kids- Anthony Henry, II

First Responders—Tracy Lunsford and Commerce Department of Public Works

Law Enforcement- Alex Swarez

Spirit of Commitment- Desiree Jefferson

MLK Scholars:  (Commerce ISD) – Shelby Patterson, Isaiah  Martinez, Lancy Davidson, Bach Tran

Spirit of Fellowship--- Rick Miller

Social Change-  Dr. Bob Johnson

Legacy of the King-  Willie Blow

Pastor of the Year- Joel Shelton

MLK Fine Arts Person of the Year:  Karri Anderson

Church of the Year- First Baptist Church of Commerce

Spirit of Dedication- “Ricky Harris

Family of the Year- John and Faye Adair of Commerce

Evangelism- Billy Hall

Employer of the Year- Chase Bank of Commerce

Visionary Award- Derria Rodgers

Loyalty---Harry Turner

MLK Humanitarian Award-  Rolonda Henry

MLK Media- Joseph Hamrick

MLK Man of the Year-  Coach Colby Cartel

MLK Woman of the Year- Veronica Reed

MLK  Citizen of the Year--- Tony Henry

MLK People of the Year-  Ezekiel Wilson, Joey Waters, Kathy Wilson

MLK County Award:-- Judge Andrew Bench

Promise Land Award-   John Biggerstaff

Spirit of  Valor  - Dr. Joseph  Webber

MLK  Volunteer Persons of the Year- Kevin Waldroup and Steve Taylor

MLK Achievement Award---  Larry Hale

MLK  Employees of the Year--- Almonia “Mona” Beachman, Larry Lucky, Jessica Jackson

MLK  Life Time Achievement Award:  Opal Pannell and Emma Martin

Again, the program will be held Sunday, Jan. 19, 2014,  2:30 pm, at the Mt. Moriah Baptist Church,  202 Champion  Lane, Norris Community,  Commerce, TX.  

We ask that you please arrive at least thirty minutes prior to the beginning of the program to be seated.  Also, please RSVP your attendance by calling 903-450-3951.   We are honored to have Noah Nelson, Director of Community Engagement from Texas A&M University-Commerce, as the guest speaker.

This event is free and open to the public.   We encourage you to bring your family, friends, and guests to this event.    Jason Cunningham, Owner of Benson Brothers of Commerce, will be the master of ceremony.      

In His Service.

Dr. M. LaVelle Hendricks, President

Hunt County African American Leadership Conference