The Commerce Journal

Opinion

February 8, 2013

Higher education needs more funding from state

COMMERCE — With the 83rd session of the Texas Legislature well under way, there will be lots of lively discussion about how to stretch limited state dollars to meet rapidly expanding needs.  While tax revenues are up – encouraging news by any measure – the needs of a growing state continue to outstrip available resources.

And those needs are many.  Funding for water, transportation, Medicaid, and “safety net” social services cannot be deferred any longer without placing the safety and well-being of Texans in jeopardy.  

And then, of course, there is the matter of education.  On Monday, State District Judge Paul Dietz ruled in favor of school districts suing the state for inadequate funding of public schools.  

“There is no free lunch.  We either want increased standards and are willing to pay the price, or we don’t,” Dietz said after delivering the ruling.

The same logic applies to higher education.  Since 2003, Texas has systematically reduced funding for the state’s colleges and universities.  On average, the percentage of operating budgets for state-supported regional universities such as Texas A&M University – Commerce has dropped from about 60 percent 10 years ago, to 30 percent today.  

At the same time, the state’s population continues to grow, as does enrollment.  A&M-Commerce now serves about 40 percent more students than it did 10 years ago.  This spring, we marked our third consecutive year of record enrollment, which is now approaching 12,000.  

How have we made up the shortfall?  We’ve become more efficient, more productive, and more lean in our operations.  We deliver more courses online than we did 10 years ago; today, nearly one-third of our total class offerings are delivered electronically.  We have reduced administrative costs, and have renegotiated contracts with vendors and suppliers to get better deals.

We have increased teaching loads and class sizes – a risky move, and one that cannot be taken much further without endangering quality.  We employ more part-time instructors, another tactic that can save money but put quality at risk.  

And, unfortunately, we have had to raise tuition and fees.  Texas A&M University – Commerce has raised its tuition rates more slowly than many other universities in Texas, and we are still the most affordable four-year public university in North Texas.  But students and families still pay about 45 percent more for their education than they did 10 years ago.

A&M-Commerce will not increase tuition and fees next year, a trend we hope we can maintain.  We will never waver in our commitment to our mission: to ensure that deserving students are offered the life-transforming opportunities available to them by earning a college degree.

A college degree is obvious benefit to an individual.  College graduates earn more, pay more taxes, are healthier, give more to charity, vote at higher levels, and are much less likely to rely on public support.

It’s easy to see from these data that college graduates improve not only their own lives, but that they strengthen the fabric of our society as well.  They are the foundation upon which a vibrant, growing economy and a healthy democracy is built.

College is not for the elite; it is for anyone who seeks a better life, for themselves, their family, their communities, and their nation.  Colleges and universities provide enormous benefits to the public, and are well deserving of public support.  

Dr. Dan Jones serves as the president of Texas A&M University-Commerce.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • This is ‘Our Commerce’

    Commerce, Texas is a unique community in north east Texas and yet in some ways very typical.

    June 26, 2014

  • IMG_2998.JPG Lions reveal true character

    Character is revealed during times of success and times of tragedy. Texas A&M University-Commerce, and specifically the Athletics Department, showed its character last week when two student-athletes were tragically killed in a car accident.

    June 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Father's_Day_1.jpg A short history of Father's Day

    There are more than 70 million fathers in the United States today. 

    June 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Judging pianists

    “The Van Cliburn Competition is the most important piano competition in the world,” says John Giordano of Fort Worth, who was chairman of the Van Cliburn jury for 40 years.

    June 10, 2014

  • Junk.jpg Enough with the junk

    Let’s play a game.

    May 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Lessons learned from decades of making speeches

    I’ve been making speeches to various groups since 1973 when I made my first chamber of commerce speech in Dumas, Texas.

    May 27, 2014

  • Yard full of turtles

    Barbara Ellison of Cameron loves her backyard. It is full of flowers and birds. Occasionally a squirrel will drop in for a meal. “I could stay out here from morning ‘til night,” says Barbara. “It’s so pretty and we enjoy taking care of it.”

    May 13, 2014

  • Mapping Texas’ rocks

    Jim Runge of Eldorado is always doing unusual things.

    April 28, 2014

  • Motel a real winner

    I traveled to Kingsville to do some filming and interviewing on King Ranch.

    April 17, 2014

  • Fighting more than just fires

    For the past few weeks I’ve been attending a Citizen’s Fire Academy hosted by the Greenville Fire Department. 

    April 4, 2014

Featured Ads

Poll

How many games do you think the Lions will win in 2014?

7-9 wins
4-6 wins
1-3 wins
     View Results
Must Read
Facebook
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide