The Commerce Journal

June 4, 2013

Jordyn Sharp named district MVP

By Joseph Hamrick
The Commerce Journal

COMMERCE — If the all-district softball awards are any indication, the Commerce Lady Tiger softball team has a good future to look forward to.

Four out of the 10 skill awards were given to players who have at least one year left to play.

Freshmen Jordyn Sharp showed she will be a game changer for the team in years to come as she was awarded Most Valuable Player for the district.

Senior Chaney Moreland was given the second team pitcher award.

Rebekah Cooper, was awarded first team catcher during her senior year.

Junior Taite McBee was quick on her feet during the season and was given first team infield for the district.

Every member of the Lady Tigers infield were given recognition as seniors Jordan Anderson, Dahyana Essix, and junior Laney Davidson were awarded second team infield,

The award of first team outfield went to senior Stacy Clark.

Junior Logan Talley secured a spot on the second team outfield, and senior Chloe Colsten was given honorable mention at district.

The Lady Tigers not only excelled on the field, but off as well.

Emily Gruver, Jordyn Sharp, Laney Davidson, Bailee Mulcahy, Logan Talley, Jordan Anderson, Stacy Clark, Kaci Harrison, Rebekah Cooper and Chaney Moreland were all given academic all-district awards for their grades in school.

Although the Commerce Tigers baseball team did not reach the playoffs this year, they were well represented in the district baseball awards.

Junior Sam Wells was a part of the first team all-district pitching staff with his 3.42 era in his 61.1 innings pitched on the year.

Junior Ramon Mojica led the team in hitting with a .457 batting average and 22 RBIs on the year. He was given first team catcher for the district.

Continuing his success in multiple sports, senior Buck WIlson was apart of the first team all-district outfielders. Wilson hit .444, had 14 RBIs and hit a team high two home runs on the year.

Three players, Derek Vickrey, senior, Josh McKeithen, junior, and junior Bailey Weaver were given honorable mention nods.

Rounding out the awards are Sam Wells, Bailey Weaver and Blake Madewell, who all received academic all-district awards for the season.