The Commerce Journal

March 4, 2014

Election day today

Multiple contested races on GOP ballot

The Commerce Journal

COMMERCE — Voters will be heading to the polls today, to make their choices in the Democratic and Republican party primary elections, which in Hunt County includes multiple contested races on the GOP side.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. today. The Herald-Banner will be providing live election returns on our website at

Today’s print edition includes a list of polling locations, while the website also includes sample ballots for each party.

Many of the GOP contests in Hunt County will also ultimately decide who will win the seats outright, as the candidates will have no opposition in November.

There were 3,866 Republican ballots cast in Hunt County during the early voting period, compared to 240 Democrat votes.

Hunt County voters will be casting ballots for their party’s preferences in the contests for senator, congress, governor, state senate, state representative, county judge, 196th district court, district clerk, county court at law No. 1, county clerk, county commissioners in precincts 2 and 4 and justices of the peace.

Voters in each party are also being asked their opinions on a handful of non-binding referendums. The following are some of the key contested races of a local interest, which are all on the Republican ballot today:

— Incumbent U.S. Representative Ralph Hall (R-Rockwall) is facing Lou Gigliotti of Princeton, John Stacy of Fate, Brent Lawson of Van Alstyne, Tony Arterburn of Rockwall and John Ratcliffe of Rockwall.

— Incumbent State Senator for District 2 Bob Deuell (R-Greenville) is facing Mark Thompson of Mesquite and Bob Hall of Canton.

— Incumbent 196th District Court Judge Steve Tittle is being challenged for the nomination by County Court At Law No. 1 Judge Andy Bench.

— Incumbent Hunt County Judge John Horn is facing Jerry Minter.

— Incumbent District Clerk Stacey Landrum is facing Charla “Twins” Campbell-Turner.

— Tod McMahan and Andy Hunt are vying for the office of Hunt County Commissioner Precinct 2.

— Incumbent Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 Place 2 Shelia Linden is facing from Wayne Gilmore .

— Two incumbent candidates are uncontested in search of nominations from the Hunt County Democratic Party. Jim Latham filed for Hunt County Commissioner for Precinct 4 and Jennifer Reeves filed for Hunt County Justice of the Peace for Precinct 2.

Voters are reminded that they will need to present a form of legal identification when ballots Tuesday.

Acceptable forms of identification include:

— Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)

— Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS

— Texas personal identification card issued by DPS

— Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS

— United States military identification card containing the person’s photograph

— United States citizenship certificate containing the person’s photograph

— United States passport

With the exception of the U.S. citizenship certificate, the identification must be current or have expired no more than 60 days before being presented for voter qualification at the polling place.

Anyone needing additional information about the election can contact the Hunt County Voter Administration Office at 903-454-5467.