The Commerce Journal

May 13, 2014

Rich and Nungess go 1-2 in decathlon

The Commerce Journal

KINGSVILLE, Texas — Matt Rich and Hendrik Nungess kicked off the second day of competition at the Lone Star Conference Championships by sweeping the top two spots on the podium for A&M-Commerce.

Overall on the day the Lions recorded six podium finishes. As teams the Lion men find themselves in second place in the team standings with 48 points, four behind Angelo State. The Lion women are in eighth place with 13 points.

Rich won the Pole Vault with a 4.25m height. Nungess won the Javelin with a new school record of 62.06m throw that propelled him into third place. Nungess’ fifth place finish and Rich’s third place finish in the final event (1500m) was enough to move the two into the top two on the leaderboard.

Gage Bowles finished third in the men’s Triple Jump with a jump of 14.77m.

The mark is new personal best for the Seguin native and is a provisional mark for Nationals. Xavier Townsend also scored points for the Lions with his fifth place finish.

Terra Truitt broke the school record in the 10,000m with a time of 37:13.33.

The time is a 1.4 seconds faster than her previous record that she set at Angelo State this season.

Dorian McCradic got on the podium in the men’s 10,000m with a third place finish (31:54.25). Chase Graham scored a point in the men’s Hammer with an eighth place finish (45.14m).

K’Don Samuels was second in the Pole Vault with a 4.93m height cleared. Fredrick Kispang scored three points after finishing sixth in the 3000m Steeplechase.

Kebrina Hartfield finished fourth (13.06m) and scored five points for the Lions.  

Brikel Bailey posted the fastest time in the prelims of the 800m with a time of 2:11.26. The mark is a new stadium record.

Vanessa Jackson got the final transfer position to the finals in the 200m dash with a time of 25.18. Jackson also qualified in the 400m with the fourth fastest time.

Like Jackson, John David Rollins got the final transfer spot into the finals in 100m dash for the men with a time of 10.83. Rollins will compete in the 200m finals as well.

Dexter Lee qualified seventh for A&M-Commerce in the 400m dash. Luis Romero will advance to the final in the 800m after his time of 1:53.55 was fifth-quick.